Ancient EgyptLuxor

World of the Valley of the Kings in Luxor

World of the Valley of the Kings in Luxor

The Valley of the Kings, located in Luxor, Egypt, is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and one of the most famous archaeological sites in the world. It is the burial site of many pharaohs and powerful nobles of the New Kingdom period of ancient Egypt, including Tutankhamun, Ramses II and Seti I.

Egypt Adventures - Valley of the Kings
Hatshepsut temple in the ancient city of Luxor in Egypt.

The Valley of the Kings is a long, narrow valley located on the west bank of the Nile river in Luxor. It contains 63 tombs, with the most famous being the tomb of Tutankhamun, also known as the “Boy King,” whose tomb was discovered in 1922 by archaeologist Howard Carter. The tomb contained an incredible collection of treasures, including the famous solid gold mask of Tutankhamun, which remains one of the most iconic artifacts of ancient Egypt.

The tombs in the Valley of the Kings were built during the 18th, 19th, and 20th dynasties of ancient Egypt, between the 16th and 11th century BCE. The tombs were designed to protect the buried pharaohs’ bodies and provide a place for their spirits to reside. Many of the tombs contain intricate decorations and hieroglyphs that tell stories of the pharaohs’ lives and beliefs.

Visitors to the Valley of the Kings can explore several tombs, including those of Tutankhamun, Ramses IV and Seti I. The tombs are open to the public, but access is limited to small groups at a time to preserve the delicate artwork and artifacts inside.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button